Review: Throne in the Sky (Crown City #1) by Angela Kulig

Review: Throne in the Sky (Crown City #1) by Angela Kulig

Amazon | Goodreads
April 23 2022
207 pages

To continue the royal bloodline, the Fae King that rules over the City in the Clouds must pick a consort.

Human, pixie, hell-sprite, seventeen-year-old Jewel assumes the king will pick the prettiest, shallowest, one of the lot, but the longer she stays in the competition to find the Culled Queen, the closer she comes to working off the debts of her family. The debts that keep them enslaved and improvised, the debts that lead to her mother’s death, and her brutally failed romance. The debt of being human.

Jewel doesn’t think she’s still capable of believing in love, but she knows hunger and darkness firsthand, so when the king’s attention turns her direction, she toys with the idea of keeping it—until the moment it slips from her fingers.

My Thoughts


I love books with this kind of premise. I will read anything that is similar to The Selection in terms of a marriage competition/a chance to marry royalty.

This is the first one I’ve seen that does this with fae, so bonus points there. My one issue is that I didn’t exactly enjoy the writing style (it was almost there but I don’t know how to explain it).

I might read the next book.

Leave a comment